Gender Swap-Fiction

My eyes search for the clock 5:30 blinks like a detonator. The bomb is ticking and there is nothing I can do about it. I swing my feet over the bed a start to get ready for my first day.
I walk confidently into the school. It is my first day as a 4th grade elementary teacher at Kennedy. This shouldn’t be an unusual event, a lot of kids and teachers are starting their first day. Ah, but my case is slightly different than anyone else’s here. I am the first male teacher this elementary school has ever had. Male elementary teachers rare gems. Not many of my kind go into the elementary field, but the small amount that do, usually have jobs within weeks of getting out of college. I am a fresh 23 year old male, just out of college.
I didn’t expect to get this job so easily. I knew becoming a teacher had its difficulties. But this job offer was too good to pass up. Kennedy is a prestigious private school with a history of all female teachers. But now, studies have shown that it is beneficial to have a “father” figure in the classroom.
Kids have not shown up yet but the hallways are in full swing. Gossip of the first male teacher has spread and the proof is walking to the workroom to fill his coffee cup.
Of course I was cautious. How would you feel if you found out every single of of your co-workers were women? At first I thought this would be a good thing. I am single and starting a new life! But what happens after the excitement is over? Who am I going to get beers with after a long day of grading? Will all of our conversations be female based?
Maybe taking this job wasn’t the best idea after all.

Leave a Reply

